Kilambi News
Friday, October 23, 2026

Korea petroleum reserves

Latest level: 2025-12-22, from Ministry of Trade, Industry and Resources statement, via Yonhap and Korea JoongAng Daily.

Korea: mixed stockholding under the IEA system, administered by Ministry of Trade, Industry and Resources sets policy; Korea National Oil Corporation (KNOC) operates nine stockpiling bases with total capacity reported at 146 million barrels.

System
IEA
Holding model
mixed
Stockholding body
Ministry of Trade, Industry and Resources sets policy; Korea National Oil Corporation (KNOC) operates nine stockpiling bases with total capacity reported at 146 million barrels
Obligation
IEA: 90 days of net imports
Reporting
irregular
Latest level
195.0 million barrels
Level date
2025-12-22
Cover
210 days

The December 2025 ministry figure is government stocks of about 100 million barrels plus private stocks of about 95 million barrels, and it predates the 2026 drawdown. Korea also holds joint storage with foreign national oil companies.

Last recorded action

2026-03-11: release of 22.5 million barrels. Korean contribution to the IEA collective action of 11 March 2026, recorded by the IEA at 22.5 million barrels (22.46 in Korean ministry reporting) and described by the ministry as the largest Korean release decision to date. (source)

Recorded actions

DateActorTypeAnnounced (million barrels)Delivered (million barrels)StatusSource
2022-04South Korea (Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy)release7.2not statedcommittedIEA second action country contributions as reported in secondary coverage; combined total reported by Yonhap in 2026
2022-03-05South Korea (Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy)release4.4not statedcommittedKorea JoongAng Daily (Yonhap), reporting the ministry
2021-12-23South Korea (Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy; KNOC distribution)loan3.2not statedcommittedKorea JoongAng Daily, reporting the ministry announcement

Level source: Ministry of Trade, Industry and Resources statement, via Yonhap and Korea JoongAng Daily. Record confidence: partial.

Confidence note: System and IEA action verified from IEA pages; the latest level and capacity details rest on secondary reporting of ministry and KNOC statements.